The Record Breaking Start to 2019

The first two and a half months of 2019 have been very exciting for tennis fans. Djokovic cemented his comeback from injury with his third straight grand slam title, Naomi Osaka backed up her win at the US open with an epic victory over Petra Kvitová in the Australian Open final, Ivo Karlovic became the oldest player to make an ATP final since 1977, and Nick Kyrgios upset three top ten players on his way to winning an ATP 500 title in Acapulco.

Perhaps the most exciting part of the season so far, however, is that in the thirty two tournaments that have been played so far between the ATP and WTA tour, we’ve seen thirty two different title winners.  Let’s take a look at each tournament from this year and its winner.


Tournament Winner
Doha (250) Roberto Bautista Agut
Brisbane (250) Kei Niskikori
Pune (250) Kevin Anderson
Sydney (250) Alex de Minaur
Auckland (250) Tennys Sandgren
Australian Open (Grand Slam) Novak Djokovic
Montpellier (250) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Sofia (250) Daniil Medvedev
Córdoba (250) Juan Ignacio Londero
Rotterdam (500) Gaël Monfils
New York (250) Reilly Opelka
Buenos Aires (250) Marco Cecchinato
Rio (500) Laslo Đere
Marseille (250) Stefano Tsitsipas
Delray Beach (250) Radu Albot
Dubai (500) Roger Federer
Acapulco (500) Nick Kyrgios
São Paulo (250) Guido Pella
Indian Wells (1000) Dominic Thiem

Interesting Stats:

  • Seven players won their first ATP title this year.
  • France, Australia, Serbia, United States, and Argentina each have two title winners.
  • Medvedev, Pella, Federer, and Tsitsipas are the only players to have made multiple finals.
  • Pune, the Australian Open, and Marseille were the only tournaments won by the first seed (Nishikori was seeded second in Brisbane even though the first seed, Nadal, withdrew).
  • Six tournaments: Sydney, Auckland, Buenos Aires, Rio, Marseille, and São Paulo were each won without the winner dropping a set.


Tournament Winner
Brisbane (Premier) Karolína Plíšková
Shenzhen (International) Aryna Sabalenka
Auckland (International) Julia Görges
Sydney (Premier) Petra Kvitová
Hobart (International) Sofia Kenin
Australian Open (Grand Slam) Naomi Osaka
St. Petersburg (Premier) Kiki Bertens
Hua Hin (International) Dayana Yastremska
Doha (Premier) Elise Mertens
Dubai (Premier 5) Belinda Bencic
Budapest (International) Alison Van Uytvanck
Acapulco (International) Wang Yafan
Indian Wells (Premier Mandatory) Bianca Andreescu

Interesting stats:

  • Three players won their first WTA title this year (Kenin, Yafan and Andreescu).
  • Czech Republic and Belgium each have two title winners.
  • Petra Kvitova has made the most finals with 3.
  • Sofia Kenin is the only player to have won a title without dropping a set.
  • Shenzhen and Budapest were the only tournaments won by the first seed.

Has this ever happened before?

The short answer is no, this has definitely never happened before—we’ve never had zero multi-title winners nineteen tournaments into the year. If we have a look back we’ll discover that there’ll always be someone that jumps above the rest and secures multiple titles early in the year. Let’s take a look back at the last twenty years of the ATP and see which player was first to hit two titles.

Year Player Title 1 Title 2 Date of second title
2018 Roger Federer Australian Open Rotterdam 18-Feb
2017 Jack Sock Auckland Delray Beach 26-Feb
2016 Novak Djokovic Doha Australian Open 31-Jan
2015 Stan Wawrinka Chennai Rotterdam 15-Feb
2014 Stan Wawrinka Chennai Australian Open 26-Jan
2013 Richard Gasquet Doha Montpellier 10-Feb
2012 Milos Raonic Chennai San Jose 19-Feb
2011 Robin Soderling Brisbane Rotterdam 13-Feb
2010 Marin Cilic Chennai Zagreb 7-Feb
2009 Marin Cilic Chennai Zagreb 8-Feb
2008 Andy Murray Doha Marseille 17-Feb
2007 Xavier Malisse Chennai Delray Beach 4-Feb
2006 Roger Federer Doha Australian Open 29-Feb
2005 Gaston Gaudio Vina del Mar Buenos Aires 13-Feb
2004 Lleyton Hewitt Sydney Rotterdam 22-Feb
2003 Andre Agassi Australian Open San Jose 16-Feb
2002 Davide Sanguinetti Milan Delray Beach 10-Mar
2001 Gustavo Kuerten Buenos Aires Acapulco 4-Mar
2000 Lleyton Hewitt Adelaide Sydney 15-Jan
1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Australian Open Rotterdam 21-Feb

To see this list as far back as the beginning of the Open Era, check out sellyme’s post on Reddit here.

Interesting Stats:

  • Never in the open era has men’s tennis gotten eighteen tournaments into the year without a dual title winner.
  • Lleyton Hewitt has been the fastest to achieve two titles by winning titles in the first two weeks of the year in 2000.
  • Davide Sanguinetti’s two titles to begin the year in 2002 were the only two titles of his career.
  • The only member of the Big 4 not to appear on this list is Rafael Nadal.
  • In only two years, 2001 and 2006, did the player who first won two titles finish the season with most or tied for the most titles.
  • In 1988 Mats Wilander was the first player to win multiple titles in the ATP and didn’t win his second title until the 27th of March—however this was only the sixteenth tournament of the year.

We’ve really never seen a year start off like this, and it’s exciting to think that so much has happened in just the first two months. It certainly looks like there’s an exciting year ahead of us as we hit the first couple of Masters 1000 events and then swing into the clay season.

Jacob Rayment

Jacob has been an avid tennis fan for over fifteen years and is known for his statistical mind.

You may also like...